Our Region

The Presbytery of Western New York is located in a beautiful, diverse region. Read on to learn more about Western New York!

Buffalo and Erie County:

The City of Buffalo is the business, cultural, and government center of Western New York, and is the second-largest city in New York State. Buffalo is often called the biggest small town in America, and it frequently remarked that Buffalo is a charming combination of an East Coast and Midwestern city. In Buffalo, home prices are among the lowest in the country and steady, as are commute times. Winters can be a bit chilly and snowy, but the summers are beyond pleasant.

Buffalo is home to a spectacular array of cultural opportunities, including art galleries, theatres, and performing ensembles. Furthermore, the city boasts a dazzling array of architectural works, including works by Louis Sullivan, Henry Hobson Richardson, and Frank Lloyd Wright, in addition to a park system designed by Frederick Law Olmstead. The city is home to the NHL's Buffalo Sabres, AAA baseball's Buffalo Bisons, and the NLL's Buffalo Bandits. The NFL's Buffalo Bills play in the nearby suburb of Orchard Park. Check out the Visit Buffalo Niagara website to learn more.

Buffalo has moved in recent years from a heavy dependence on manufacturing to a more diversified economy, led in particular by health care and higher education. The University at Buffalo is a major part of the local economy, and continues to grow at a rapid pace. Sectors targeted for growth in the future by the Buffalo Niagara Enterprise include agribusiness, advanced manufacturing, back office operations, hospitality, life sciences, logistics, and renewable energy.

Niagara Falls and Niagara County:

Naturally, the largest attraction in Niagara County is Niagara Falls, one of the most majestic waterfalls on Earth. However, there is more to Niagara County than Niagara Falls! The Niagara River continues past Niagara Falls to Lake Ontario, a junction guarded by Fort Niagara, sections of which date to the seventeenth century. Numerous wineries form the Niagara Wine Trail. The Erie Canal passes through Niagara County, with its terminus in the Tonawandas, and the famous "Flight of Five" locks in Lockport There are also three bridges to Canada in Niagara County.

Chautauqua County:

Located southwest of Buffalo, Chautauqua County surrounds Chautauqua Lake, a popular vacation destination. Click here to visit the Chautauqua County Visitor's Bureau website. The largest city in the county is Jamestown, once home to Lucille Ball. Located on the shores of Chautauqua Lake is the world-renowned Chautauqua Institution. The county is also home to several wineries.

Cattaraugus County:

Cattaragus County is a rural county located south of Buffalo, bordering on the state of Pennsylvania. The County is home to several ski resorts, centered around the quaint village of Ellicottville. In the fall, the trees of the county put on a remarkable display of fall foliage. Allegany State Park, one of the largest in the New York State Park system, is located in the county.